The Beauty of a Lazy Day

I gave myself the day off today and it was so lovely. It’s not as if I don’t often have free time or that I don’t often have the luxury of being lazy; I absolutely do not lead a busy lifestyle. But I really love that about myself. I know plenty of people who are fuelled by a packed schedule and who tend to get restless when they have nothing to do. Sometimes I find myself wishing I was the same. There’s a certain comfort in always having meetings, responsibilities, and to-do lists occupy your mind and it definitely leads to more productivity. However, I absolutely revel in free time. I love sleeping in and having the time to drift in and out of sleep, wiggle my toes, and stretch out my arms before I decide to slip out from under my blankets. I love being able to make myself a grand breakfast and crawling back into bed to eat and slowly sip away at my coffee. I love having the day to do whatever it is my heart feels drawn to do. Sometimes that means watching several episodes of a TV show and not emerging from my bedroom until 3 p.m. Sometimes that means allowing an entire day to pass while I flip through pages and pages of a beautiful book, the rise and fall of the sun in harmony with the beginning and end of a story. Sometimes it means I people-watch from coffee shop windows, wander, write. No matter what I decide to do, everything is beautiful because the entire day has been mine to unravel in whichever way I choose.

This was the kind of day I had today. Technically uneventful, but filled with so many solitary, quiet, beautiful moments that my heart feels as if it’s swelling as I sit here writing this. I hit snooze several times this morning, continued to curl up in my toasty blankets until my bedroom was bathed in the late morning sunlight; I watched the Girls finale as I ate my breakfast in bed; I took an extra long shower, leaned against the tiled wall as steam filled every inch of the room; and then I headed out for a day in Bragg Creek. I drove, walked, took photos, went book shopping. I did nothing that I didn’t absolutely want to do; it was a day wonderfully spent.

BraggCreekD

DSC_0040
I hope you’re lucky enough to have a free, beautifully lazy day sometime soon. If not, I strongly advise you to cast off some responsibilities and create one!

| alex

Leave a comment